Schneider TM

Schneider TM

Schneider TM is a multidimensional music project from Dirk Dresselhaus, named after his nickname Schneider. Since the late 80's, Dirk has been active in different musical fields. From 1989 until 1997 he played and sang in adventurous rock and pop bands like Hip Young Things and Locust Fudge (both on Glitterhouse Records) before he became more active in electronic music around 1996. Schneider TM is responsible for a couple of experimental electro-freak-pop albums (on City Slang / Mute) and mini-hits like 'Reality Check', 'Frogtoise' and a cover version of a song by The Smiths called 'The Light 3000', a collaboration with Kptmichigan that was hugely acclaimed by John Peel, The Wire etc..                                                                                                                                                As well as work on a variety of one-off projects - including the production of music for movies, theatre and radio plays - Dirk has been performing & recording with noise & drone outfits like Angel (w/ Ilpo Väisänen of Pan sonic + guests like Hildur Gudnadottir & Lucio Capece) and Real Time (w/ Reinhold Friedl of Zeitkratzer) on a regular basis since 1999. For a while now, Dirk has also been moving Schneider TM in the direction of instantly composed freeform music, employing varying instruments including guitar, electronics, balaphon as well as field recordings. Sometimes the work is solo and at other times together with artists like Jochen Arbeit (of Einstürzende Neubauten, Automat), Damo Suzuki (ex-Can), video artist Lillevan or Japanese dancer Tomoko Nakasato. The first result of this open & soundscape-y direction is the Schneider TM album 'Construction Sounds'. Based on field recordings of Berlin construction sites combined with electronics, it was released in September 2012 on Bureau B & MirrorWorldMusic (MWM), an online-platform / label started in 2007 by Dirk Dresselhaus and Michael Beckett (aka Kptmichigan) to present past, present & future of their works.

discography (summary):

Schneider TM:
- Schneider TM, 12“, Payola 1997
- Up-Tight, 12“,City Slang 1998
- Masters, CD Maxi, City Slang 1998
- Moist, CD/LP, City Slang/Mute 1998
- Binokular (Split-EP w/ Kptmichigan), CD/LP, City Slang 2000
- Reality Check, 12“/CD Maxi, City Slang 2002
- Frogtoise, 12“/CD Maxi, City Slang 2002
- Zoomer, CD/LP, City Slang/Labels/Mute 2002
- 6 Peace EP, CD, Mute 2003
- The Light 3000, (w/ Kptmichigan), 7“, For Us / Rough Trade 2003
- Reconfigures, CD/LP, Earsugar 2004
- Psychedeldic Queen / Uh Yeah, Baby !, 7“, Earsugar 2004
- Release (Hörspiel), 2xCD, Lieblingslied Records 2005
- Pac Man / Shopping Cart, 7“, City Slang 2006
- Skoda Mluvit, CD, 2xLP, City Slang 2006
- Schneider TM und Lustfaust, 7“ , MWM 2007
- Station 17 + Schneider TM, Jede Nacht, 12“/CD, 17rec, 2008
- Station 17 + Schneider TM, Goldstein Variationen 3 Redux, MWM 2008
- Cäcilie Awestruck (w/ Ilpo Väisänen, Kptmichigan, Ronald Lippok, Tomoko Nakasato), 20 CD-        Box/download, Hoerspielpark, 2012
- Construction Sounds, CD/LP, Bureau-B, 2012
- Jochen Arbeit / Schneider TM / Claas Großzeit - Live At HBC, limited CD / download, Last Foundation / MWM 2012

- Angel Nr.1 – Nr.10, CD, Bip Hop 2002
- Angel and Hildur Gudnadottir, In Transmediale, CD, Oral 2006
- Angel, Kalmukia, CD/Notebook, Editions Mego 2008
- Angel, Hedonism, CD, Editions Mego 2008
- Strings Of Consciousness & Angel, LP/CD, Conspiracy Rec. / Important Rec. 2009
- Angel, 26000, CD/LP, Editions Mego 2011

Dr. Drek:
- More Time / Rush Moon , 7“, Earsugar 2005

Mr. Schmuck’s Farm:
- Good Sound, CD, Oral 2005

Hip Young Things:
- Deflowered, CD, Glitterhouse Rec. 1992
- Root’n Varies, CD, Glitterhouse Rec. 1993
- Shrug, CD/LP, Glitterhouse Rec. 1994
- Ventilator, CD/LP, Glitterhouse Rec. 1996

Locust Fudge:
- Flush, CD, Glitterhouse Rec. 1993
- Royal Flush, CD, Glitterhouse Rec. 1995 / Sonic Plate (Japan) 2001
- Business Express, EP, Sticksister 1996

Movie Soundtracks (as Dirk Dresselhaus):
- 1.Mai-Helden Bei Der Arbeit, O.S.T., CD, Colosseum 2008
- 66/67-Fairplay War Gestern, O.S.T., CD, Colosseum 2009
- Polnische Ostern, O.S.T., download, 2011, MWM

Image for Schneider TM
go to top of page