Benjamin Duboc

Benjamin Duboc

Benjamin Duboc was born May 20, 1969.

double bass player / improviser / electroacoustic composer / sound engineer

Benjamin Duboc is a very strong voice on double bass, born 1969, studied with JF Jenny-Clark & Bernard Cazauran, and has played with many great musicians (as Ernest Dawkins, Bertrand Denzler, Roy Campbell, Jean-Luc Cappozzo, Sabir Mateen, Byard Lancaster, Daniel Erdmann, Abdelahaï Bennani, Michel Doneda, Daunik Lazro, Sunny Murray, John Betsch…). And also with Henry Grimes for a great duet in Paris. He leads the "Nuts" quintet with Itaru Oki & Rasul Siddik on trumpets, & Makoto Sato & Didier Lasserre on drums. He plays in "The fish" with Jean-Luc Guionnet on alto sax & Edward Perraud on drums (double cd on Ayler Records) and Rocks in the Sea with Mario Rechtern, Eric Zinman and Didier Lasserre.
Benjamin has a beautiful and big sound, you really feel the ground while hearing him... it's somethin' !
He also is recorded on Amor Fati, Futura Marge, Creative sources, le petit label, sansbruit.


Early on, in his family, he would hear music – jazz. He attends conservatory and is taught piano and clarinet, then double bass under the direction of Jean-François Jenny-Clark and Bernard Cazauran.
Out of adolescence: “Music and arts as a way of being”.
He’s working with Gaël Mervel and Thierry Waziniak before joining octopus with Benoist Raffin and Jobic Le Masson whom he meets in 1993 in Slovakia.
From then on, he will relentlessly go from a project to another, from a meeting to another with numerous musicians: free jazz, european improv...
In his works, he intends to shape time. He’s known today as a very active improviser and composer of electroacoustic music in various contexts, medias and means of expression (music, dance, theatre, image...)

Improvised in France and Europe with...(among many)
Jean-Luc Guionnet, Edward Perraud, Tom Chant, Bertrand Denzler, Michel Doneda, Oliver Lake, Didier Lasserre, Stéphane Rives, Henry Grimes, Roy Campbell, Jean-Luc Cappozzo, Mario Rechtern, Eric Zinman, Jobic Le Masson, Sunny Murray, Daunik Lazro, Itaru Oki, Hasse Poulsen, Makoto Sato, Rasul Siddik, Christine Wodrascka, Hilary Jeffery, Jack Wright…
Musée de Strasbourg, Jazz à Mulhouse, Bordeaux Jazz Festival, Festival de Besançon, Jazz à Luz, Panonnica (Nantes), Festival Luisance (Brest), Carré Bleu (Poitiers), Petit Faucheux (Tours), Instants Chavirés (Montreuil), A l’improviste (Radio France), Suède, Italie, Allemagne, Autriche, Espagne, Portugal, Maroc, Turquie…

Works for films – electroacoustic compositions

Original soundtrack from the film Les Résistants by Bernard Cerf (La Clef - Paris - 2006)
Original soundtrack from the film l’impropriation by Franck Gourdien (Instants Chavirés - L’Ogresse - 2007)
Original soundtrack from the film Un été à Zedelbeek by Chiara Malta (Collectif jeune cinéma - Festivals Italie - 2007)
Original soundtrack from the film Photographie by franck Gourdien (2008)
Original soundtrack from the film Comme si de rien n'était by franck Gourdien (2008)
Original soundtrack from the film e #2 by franck Gourdien (2009)

Music and images – “Living music”

Original soundtrack from the short film Contexte by Philippe Leteissier (Instants Vidéos - 2004)
Original soundtrack from the film Projection by Franck Gourdien (Primare Cantus - 2008)
Périph Fluide “partition visuelle interrogative pour quatre musiciens”. (Instants Vidéos Nomades - Les Voûtes - 2005 - 2006)


La Douleur by M. Duras with Sonia Fleurance, Jean-Luc Guionnet. Directed by Eric Vautrin (Lyon - 2006).


Pour Rien with Gilles Coronado, Pierre Emmanuel Paute and Virginie Perret on a text by S. Beckett (Residency in Angoulême and performances in Bordeaux - 2005).

Based on literary texts

La Douleur with Sonia Fleurance (Paris - bibliothèques Strasbourg et Bordeaux - 2005, 2006).
Lieu d’écoute with Jean-Luc Guionnet and Sonia Fleurance (Espace Jemmapes - 2006).
La Folie du jour with Sonia Fleurance and Didier Lasserre (Espace Jemmapes - La Guillotine - La Fabrica’son – 2006 – 2007 - 2008).

All of the following meetings have been of significance...Jean-Paul Adam, David Aknin, Laurent Bardaine, Jérôme Barde, Marc Baron,Pascal Battus, Abdelhaï Bennani, Olivier Benoît, Sybille Berresheim, John Betsch, Boris Blanchet, Lionel Boccara, Heddy Boubaker, Jean Bordé, Sébastien Branche, Eric Brochard, George Brown, Emmanuel Brunet, Roy Campbell, Jean-Luc Cappozzo, Sylvain Cathala, Tom Chant, Christelle Chatalin, Thomas Charmetant, Anne-James Chaton, Sébastien Cirotteau, Gilles Coronado, Gilles-Marc Dardenne, Nicolas Dary, Geoffroy de Masure, Thomas De Pourquery, Grégoire Deletang, Maxime Delpierre, Philippe Demoure, Bertrand Denzler, Sylvain Designe, Michel Doneda, David El-Malek, Daniel Erdmann, Basile Ferriot, Sonia Fleurance, Vincent Frad, Amy Gamlen, Philippe Gleizes, Agnès Gorda, Franck Gourdien, David Grebil, Henry Grimes, Sylvain Guérineau, Jean-Luc Guionnet, Didier Haboyan, Aldridge Hansberry, François Héline, Christer Hennix, François Homps, Régis Huby, Luc Isenmann, Karl Jannuska, Mathieu Jérôme, Michael Johnsen, Lucien Johnson, Laurent Katz, Tomoko Kondo, Oliver Lake, Byard Lancaster, Didier Lasserre, Jean-Baptiste Laya, Daunik Lazro, Joëlle Léandre, Jobic Le Masson, Philippe Leteissier,Frantz Loriot, Pascal Marzan, Olivier Mascaro, Serge Merlot, Gaël Mevel, Laurent Mignard, Johan Miran, Moïra Montier-Dauriac, Fabien Moretti, Léon Morvan, Nicolas Moulin, Seijiro Murayama, Sunny Murray, Yukiko Nakamura, Guillaume Naud, Jean-Claude Oleksiak, Itaru Oki, Antoine Paganotti, Sébastien Paindestre, Claude Parle, Pierre-Emmanuel Paute, Laurent Pascal, Stéphane Payen, Edward Perraud, Virginie Perret, Bertrand Perrin, Hasse Poulsen, Christian Pruvost, Benoît Raffin, Antonin Rayon, Mario Rechtern, Olivier Renne, Sylvain Rifflet, Stéphane Rives, Christophe Rocher, Frank Roger, Gilbert Roggi, Jean-Luc Roumier, Arnaud Sacase, Laurent Salmon, Benjamin Sanz, Makoto Sato, Patrick Scheyder, Rasul Siddik, Mark Sims, Alfred Spirli, Daniel Suissa, Mircea Tiberian, Ly Than Tien, Emiliano Turi, Eric Vautrin, Rémy Voide, Dan Warburton, Maki Watanabe, Thierry Waziniak, Nusch Werchowska, Christine Wodrascka, Jack Wright, Eric Zinman...

go to top of page